Newsome’s Weblog


5 Year (Post Radiation) Anniversary!
May 6, 2013, 6:28 pm
Filed under: Cancer | Tags: , ,

Five years ago yesterday was my final radiation treatment.  I know that several different head/neck cancer blogs have links to my page, so if you are reading this and are going through (or about to go through) radiation treatment… this is for you:

You can do it! There were times that I thought that the last treatment would never get here.  Keep pushing! As much as everyone wants to help, no one can do it for you. It is something that you can and will do for yourself.  I did it and if I can do it, you can do it! I’m no superman or tough guy, but I wanted to live so I had to fight for it.  You can do it!

Here’s a little something that was never discussed on my blog during my radiation: I thought that I had 30 treatments to go through and on the day of my 15th treatment, I found out that I actually was getting 33 treatments.  It was only “3 more”, but to have thought that I had made it past the halfway mark and to be told that I wasn’t there yet was devastating.  Unless you have been there or are there now, you can’t understand what a blow that is…  It felt like I slid backwards in my forward progress, but I was still on track.  I just didn’t know what the track was 🙂

Don’t ever get discouraged.  Your struggles and pains are not unique.  Tons of us have been there and you can make it.

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi, I’m not on Facebook (can you believe it?). Anyway, thank you, for this. I was dx with left tonsil ca on 8/7/12 during surgery to find where “it” was. After another surgery to remove lymph nodes, I began tx in October 2012; 6 low-dose cysplatin and 27 radiations. I finished tx on my husband’s birthday, November 14th. I foolishly, or rather ignorantly thought I could eat for Thanksgiving! I’ve always been thin (120 lbs.) and went down to 103.
More and more, I’m meeting and “meeting” (you) people who have had tonsil ca. I was actually the 3rd person in my church to have it (and I belong to a very, very small Lutheran church). Anyway, my last PetScan 0n 1/13/14 was good. And I wish the same for you, my friend, forever. Congratulations on 5 years. May God (or whatever you believe in) Bless you always. Only we know what we went through, and our loved ones who watched it all happen. Namaste.

Comment by Marcia Musial

Sorry for the long delay in replying – I don’t use my blog much anymore and evidently it doesn’t notify me if someone sends me a message. I am thrilled to hear of your success! I am almost 6 years out now (May 5) and I can remember everything about it as if it just happened a few months ago. As I read your comments, I can truly empathize with your struggle and revel in the great news of your continued success. Bless you and thank you for your message.

Comment by 1158pm




Leave a Reply

